Orange, Lemon, and Lime – Oh my!

Posted on September 29, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I’m really not sure what the big thing is about reds, purples and blues, but when you are preparing for a colonoscopy – they are completely forbidden.  I can eat/drink a number of CLEAR liquids (in other words, if I can see through it, I can drink it….), including Gatorade, Chicken broth, Jell-O, water, tea, coffee, soft drinks.  But, none can be of the forbidden colors. 

My question then, is why can’t I have a green cherry Gatorade, or a orange colored raspberry Jell-O?  Oddly, these aren’t hard questions – I’m sure that it’s the dye that is used causes some coloration of the colon and bowel – which certainly isn’t good when you’re looking for things by color, shape, etc.

So, today I pretty much drank my weight in coffee (black – no cream or milk!) and Gatorade, with a few glasses of water and some yummy Lime Jell-O…..  What I found the other day is fun, to say the least: Margarita flavored Jell-O – and it’s GREEN!  W00t!

Well, maybe more later on.  I have to go start round two of the ‘colon blow’ (a massive infusion of purging medicines to clean out the bowel….  Right.  Fun – NOT!), and the next round (and hopefully final for a while…) begins tonight at 12:30 AM.

I did get the lawn mowed – that was good to get outside and sweat a bit.  It’s going to be winter soon, and… well – not quite as nice outside as it is today.

Rick

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

