I Expect to Glow in the Dark Soon……

Posted on October 13, 2009. Filed under: The 'C' Word |

This morning I went back over to the hospital for a PET scan.  PET stands for Positron Emission Tomography, which basically means that they create a 3-D map of your body.  But, before they toss you into the ‘field of nuclear bombardment’, they give you an infusion of radioactive tracer material.  In my case, I’m pretty sure that it was flourine-18.  It’s mixed with a glucose (sugar) solution and injected into the body via a vein.  The end result is once you’ve sat for about an hour, giving time for the radioisotope and the glucose to move through your body, the glucose is eaten up by the more voracious eaters in your body.  In my case, that’s the cancer – which lights up like a beacon in the PET scan.

The good news is that there is only one area that was indentified by the PET scan as having any kind of activity – and that was the known tumor in my rectum.  Yeah, it’s good news when they only find cancer where you already know you have it!  Certainly, the bad news would have been that there was another area of interest. There wasn’t, and that’s a good thing.

The PET scan results are being used to map out what the best approach to delivering radiation to the tumor. The Dr, his radiation mapping experts and the physicists (right – physicists…. They help to determine how strong of a dose to be given to achieve the desired results) work to determine the best course of therapy.

Me, I’m just looking forward to moving ahead.  I have a meeting with a surgeon this Thursday, and hopefully soon I’ll know what leg of the research project I fall on. I have a 50% chance on needing a port installed in my chest – but, one way or the other, it’s all good.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

