Taking Me Apart and Putting it All Back Together Again….

Posted on October 17, 2009. Filed under: The 'C' Word |

Make no mistake – the practice of Medicine has always been a fascination for me.  It’s detective work in the most critical sense, and I love the puzzle.  Aside for the cynical attitude (which mimics me so well that he could be my brother), it’s likely one of the reasons that I like the Fox TV Show “House” so much.  Far fetched?  Sure – but an hour of ‘suspension of belief’ is OK.

So, why this bit of information? Your General Practitioner may not strike you as the most brilliant Doctor ever.  They deal with cold symptoms, this hurts when I do this (“Uh, don’t do that…”), flu, and a whole host of other things that are just – mundane. But, I owe my GP a debt of gratitude, and very likely my life.  He knew enough from my symptoms to order up a colonoscopy.  Thank goodness he did.

So, to date I have met two Gastro-Intestinal doctors, an Oncologist, a Radiation Oncologist, a Research Coordinating Nurse, and a Colo-Rectal Surgeon. My surgeon is a fascinating guy with a massive amount of credentials behind him.  Creighton, College of Surgeons – Edinburg, Scotland, multiple memberships in various medical associations.  Plus, he has a very good bedside manner (and, that’s not as easy to come by these days as it once was). More importantly, he had time to listen, talk about what is going on and what the potential outcomes would be.  Plus, he’s from Hyderabad, my favorite city in India (of course, Microsoft has a really big campus there….).

What we discussed specifically was the current state of the tumor (partially obstructing in the lower bowel in the rectum) and the fact that if all goes well with the radiation therapy and the chemotherapy, the odds are better than not that he will be able to remove the tumor and re-attach the ends of the colon to return me to near perfect – minus some inches of lower bowel.  Of course, they do call it the “Practice of Medicine” for a reason.  No one has perfected medicine.  Nothing is a guarantee.  What I know in addition to the above is that the possibility is that he won’t be able to put me back together.  And, that means that I’ll have to have a colostomy – not the worst outcome ever.  But, regardless – I’ll have a colostomy for a couple months anyway, as the resected bowel heals.

What does all of this mean?  It means that I have met everyone that is going to be directly involved in my cure.  Now, all I want to do is to get going.  Bring on the radiation, bring on the chemo.  Bring on the surgery.  I want this little, 5cm parasitic thing out of my ass.  Tomorrow would be OK.  🙂

Rick

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

